Go for it and enjoy the ride!

When I first read Natalie Sisson’s strap line, ‘freedom in business and adventure in life’, I immediately thought, “Hey, that’s what I want!”

To me freedom in business means:

1. No more 9 to 5!

Okay, so I appreciate that running my own business might sometimes mean working round the clock instead, but the point is that I get to decide what hours I need to do in order to satisfy my customers/clients etc. As a night owl I generally prefer to start and finish later in the day – it makes me both happier and more productive.

2. No more commuting!

I have to be honest and say that my commute to work at the moment is pretty easy by London standards (25 mins, including an 8 minute train ride plus walking either side), but that’s still 50 mins per day I could spend doing something more interesting. Maybe one of the most depressing aspects of commuting is being packed in with hundreds of other commuters who look pretty uninspired by the thought of the day ahead.

3. No more ironing!

Surely life is just too short to be spending our Sunday evenings ironing uncomfortable blouses for work. How is it that in this day and age we still need to perform this boring ritual – why can’t all fabrics just be crease-free? Although I have been known to rock a good shift dress (dry clean only), generally I could do without the formality of office attire five days a week.

But most importantly it means having the freedom and autonomy to make the big decisions about the business because ultimately, I own it.

Go for it!

Adventure in life means throwing yourself in head first, not knowing what surprises will be thrown your way or where you might end up.

To a point, all of life is an adventure whether we like it or not; we can never completely control all the external events that will affect us. The main choice is how much adventure we want to handle.

Friends have described me as ‘brave’ or ‘adventurous’ in the past, mainly in reference to me travelling alone and/or visiting destinations like South America. And, yes, I’ve camped out in the Amazon jungle. But the truth is I’m not sure I’m quite as brave when it comes to emotional risks, which is something I need to work on. (On a related note, if you haven’t seen Brene Brown’s TED Talk on Vulnerability, you should definitely watch it now)

Ultimately, the most important thing is that I choose to have more adventure in my life and this means going for it in every aspect of life, embracing the unexpected and enjoying the ride!

Leave a Reply

